Temporary Architecture [Master Thesis E/11] Del 3, AAA

Continuously reworked collage, photoshop, photocopy and pencil on A3

TEMPORARY ARCHITECTURE AND THE MODEL AS A PROCES-MACHINE
Af Troels Steenholdt Heiredal

[Temporality] ; for something to be defined as temporary it must relate to something known to have a permanent character; and then the temporary must disappear or change. In our society it seems like the two states are converging – in Tokyo the average expected lifetime of a building is less than 20 years – buildings are  no longer forever. But why do we then still construct architecture as if it was to last for a hundred years?

The real test of architecture is to be found at the scale of 1:1, but since architecture cost a lot of money and takes a long time to deliver, not much testing goes on. The discourse and production of temporary architecture revolve around a festival and event based architecture. What would happen if we were to let lose the temporary architecture in the realm of the real architecture? What if we could investigate new ways of living together, new social patterns at the scale of life.

 WAVES ON SHORE café at Roskilde11 by WHOISIN

Architecture as two systems, one permanent – the supporting structure – and the other temporary – the program and its walls. Could one obtain a permanent building permite for the structural parts and a temporary for the program in order to reduce costs and delivering time?

Notebook sketch; diagram showing two systems of temporality;
red: “permanent” – magenta: “temporary”

Process
In the architectural process I see the model as a tool, a temporary testing machine, sketching in model. At this moment in my project – less than a month left – most people would come to expect that I would have some plans and sections, probably a 3D model from which these plans and sections are simple extractions of. I have neither. I have sketches, abstract models and collages, describing a state of being, a system. And I have started a 1:20 model – the scale is chosen to make sure that I am able to enter the model. As architecture, the model relates to the body, in constructing it I have ‘use my arms rather than just my fingers’ and if I want to see it from another angle, I have to walk around it, position myself in relation to the model, I can’t just move it around in my hands. The size of the model challenge me to be physical with it. This will be my presentation model; but it is going to be much more than that. As I am sketching with the model, the process, the changes – the core of temporality – will be embedded in the model. Part of it will be pieces of wood inscribing spaces relating to one another, whilst other parts will be detailed in the expression of the facade and in the meeting of actual materials – plaster / concrete / wood / plexi / metal. The model will continuously be build and rebuild. The hope is that this proces will leave traces in space drawings and materials. This makes the model a proces-machine – not only showing the project but also the way of working.

Revisit part one and two.

Sketches done while modeling, sketching and modeling informing eachother; pencil on A2



2 kommentarer on “Temporary Architecture [Master Thesis E/11] Del 3, AAA”

  1. […] the other post from Troels here. Share this:FacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. Johnk691 siger:

    I usually do not drop a comment, but I read a few afdkcgfaebcb


Skriv et svar

